Does anybody else agree with me that the concept of "Seven Deadly Sins" is flawed in that three of the categories are virtually the same?

There are distinct, clear, fundamental differences between Wrath, Sloth, Pride, and Lust, but look at the other three:

Avarice = wanting too much
Envy = wanting what other people have
Gluttony = wasteful overconsumption

Wouldn't it make much more sense to just group Envy and Avarice together to become a definition of "wanting too much, including being jealous that other people have things you don't have", and to change Gluttony to a new category that is solely about being wasteful, not overconsumption?

Furthermore, there are other character flaws that aren't grouped in there in the slightest bit. Here's a list of umbrella terms that could easily replace that Envy (and potentially Gluttony) spot:

Apathy = being unkind, unsympathetic, discriminatory, intolerant, etc.
Fear = lacking courage
Dishonesty = rejecting truthfulness
Depression/Fatalism = pessimistic; lacking hope and faith
Frivolity = being careless; not taking things serious enough
Foolishness = lacking intelligence and wisdom
Obsession = over-fixation
Impatience = having a restless desire for change; lacking patience, obviously

See, this is why I need to be in charge lol.



Out on Limbs is going through a lot of renovations which will take quite a long time. Many old posts will be deleted, never to return again. Others will be removed, rewritten, and republished with better quality. Until then, please be patient with the lack of updates.



Related Posts with Thumbnails